SAVAGE .223, NOE & UNIQUE

This is a series of targets shot with my Savage Axis Youth left handed .223 bolt rifle. The boolit is the NOE 225 60 RNGC with .010 aluminum checks. The lube is my Graphlox. Unique is the powder and the primers are small magnum pistol. I realize that’s an odd primer choice, but I chose that size because I have an abundance of them and I felt I’d get more than enough fire to fill a .223 case.

I fired twenty groups of three shots each from 5.0 grains to 8.8 grains in increments of .2 grains each. There are four target sheets, five targets per sheet.

SHEET I

The closest boolit weight to the 60 grain boolit I used listed in the 3rd Edition Lyman Cast Bullets Handbook is 54 grains. The suggested starting load for Unique under that weight is 6.7 grains. I started at 5.0 grains as I felt confident from prior testing that I would have no problems.

Based on the results of the 5.6 and 5.8 grain loads, I intend to load four more groups at 5.6 to 5.9 at .1 grain increments for comparison.

223-NOE 60-UNIQUE-I

SHEET II

I was very impressed with the results of the 6.0 & 6.2 grain groups. As with the 5.6 & 5.8 grain groups in SHEET I, I’ll load four groups from 6.0 to 6.3 grains in .1 grain increments for testing.

223-NOE 60-UNIQUE-II

SHEET III

The 7.2 grain group turned in some good results. I think three groups from 7.1 to 7.3 in .1 grain increments for testing would be in order here.

Look at the 7.0 and 7.4 grain groups. Two touching shots and a flier. This drives me nuts. I know dern good and well I was holding steady on those shots. I’ve seen that before and retested only to get a triangle group that was similar to the 7.6 grain group.

223-NOE 60-UNIQUE-III

SHEET IV

The only group that drew my interest on this sheet is the 8.8 grain group. I’d say it’s useable for small game at 50 yards, but I’d like to improve it.

I intend to test further up to 9.0 grains, the top of the load window for Unique with a 54 grain bullet. I’ll load and shoot three groups at 8.7 to 8.9 grains and see how those do.

223-NOE 60-UNIQUE-IV

When I’m done with all the testing, I’ll load seven rounds of the best groups and shoot for velocity over my chrony. I’ll report the final test results as soon as I can.

Thanks for dropping by and having a look see!

About Jim

Retired from industrial construction and livin' the dream in the mountains of Virginia.
This entry was posted in Handloading, Powder. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

