PRIMER COMPARISON TEST

Over the years, I’ve heard myriad claims about what brisance level of primer works best in what load combination. I’ve heard dozens of claims, but have never seen any documentation or proof.

Recently, I picked up a new rifle, A H&R Super Light Youth Model in 223 Remington. I started testing various loads at reduced velocities trying to find an accuracy node. The primary reason I’m working at the lower end is I bought this rifle to hunt ‘coons with.

Not having much success to begin with, I decided to run a primer test. I chose the Lyman 225415 bullet lubed with my Graphlox lube. I chose Red Dot and Unique powders to test with.

I had shot some test ammunition and chose the best group from the two powders. I loaded up duplicates of the two best groups with the four types of small primers and shot them. I was very surprised at the results.

3.6 GR. UNIQUE PRIMER TEST

3.0 GR. BULLSEYE PRIMER TEST

About Jim

Retired from industrial construction and livin' the dream in the mountains of Virginia.
This entry was posted in Handloading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

