T-53 CHINESE MOSIN NAGANT

The T-53 is not really a Mosin as it was made in China. I labeled the post as such because a lot of people wouldn’t know what a T-53 is.

I bought one a few months back. Man, that thing looked rough, but the bore was in surprisingly very good condition. I look at an old milsurp like a farm truck. It ain’t pretty, but the paint job ain’t why it runs.

DSCN2966

After a lot of work, I finally got the stock shortened and refinished to what I wanted.

DSCN2983

I finally got around to putting it on paper. I used surplus 148 grain steel core ball ammo. I set up a target at 50 yards and did the best I could. At almost 62 years of age and needing bifocals all the time, I claim the “Old eyes & iron sights” excuse.

DSCN3382

I had considered experimenting with using 30 caliber 163 grain AP projectiles in this rifle. With the groove diameter being .314″ and the bullets at .308″, I knew I’d lose gas through the grooves. Then I remembered this surplus stuff is steel cored. I decided to find out just what’s inside the jacket.

I clamped a pulled bullet in my vice and took a file to it. after a half hour or so, I got half way through it, exposing the core with a nice axial sectional view.

DSCN3385

The steel core is not as well made as the AP bullets used by the American armed forces. It appears to be formed, not machined.

The cartridge heads are stamped 60 on top and 80 on the bottom. According to 7.62x54r.net, this ammo was made in Lugansk/Frunze. If I’ve got it right, the 80 is the year of manufacture.

This is certainly not a target rifle by any means. I think I could work up a useable load for hunting with the proper size soft point bullets at short ranges, but other than that, it’s just an old bolt-action milsurp that’s fun to shoot.

 

About Jim

Retired from industrial construction and livin' the dream in the mountains of Virginia.
This entry was posted in Rifles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

