Hornady Lock-N-Load Auto Charge & 7383

About a year ago, I bought a Hornady Lock-N-Load Auto Charge electronic powder dispenser.

PC050068It’s a great machine and I’m very pleased with it. However, I have had one problem that I had to figure out for myself how to solve.

I use a military surplus powder called IMR 7383. It’s a very bulky stick powder. Four to five granules equates to a grain in weight.

The Hornady Auto Charge is designed to deliver the charge desired to within .1 (one tenth) grains. As the weight approaches the dialed in amount, the scale automatically recognizes that and the delivery speed slows down to a trickle. When the weight reaches the dialed in amount, the scale stops and beeps, indicating a completed delivery.

Because 7383 is so bulky, one twitch of the delivery tube at trickle speed can dump more powder than called for. This results in an over charge which is indicated by a prolonged beep from the machine. When that happens, the screen indicates an over charge and will not show the weight.

I glued a small rectangle of stainless steel sheet metal to the side of the machine and set a manual trickler on it.

DSCN3532

I set the charge weight to one grain below my desired weight. When the machine stops, I manually trickle the powder into the pan. If the machine goes over the desired amount, I simply reset it to show the actual weight delivered and use the manual trickler to top it up.

If the weight dialed in is over 20 grains, the machine kicks into “high gear” and then slows down as the weight approaches the desired amount. Sometimes, it runs over and the over charge alarm goes off. I’ve had this happen with powders other than 7383. My method works to solve that problem also.

Even though I have this problem with this machine, I consider it minor compared to the machine’s overall functions. I’m very happy with it and would recommend it to anyone.

 

About Jim

Retired from industrial construction and livin' the dream in the mountains of Virginia.
This entry was posted in Handloading. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hornady Lock-N-Load Auto Charge & 7383

  1. John Moulton aka MT Gianni. says:

    I fond that if my Lyman 1200 dps gets a small overcharge with bulky powders I can pick up a few grains between thumb and forefinger and trickle enough in the pan to put it right. The rest goes back into the hopper.

Leave a Reply

